top of page
Writer's pictureSlappy Trucks

The Daily Grind Korea | REVIEW: SLAPPY TRUCKS “ST1 hollow Inverted”


I used the ST1 hollow inverted model 8.5 of Slappy truck. The height is 53.9 in all sizes, belonging to the high axis.


1. Introduction

This is a new truck brand that Mike Sinclair, who was a team manager at Tum Yeto and Nike SB, researched and created during Corona. It was officially released in December after secretly talking about it since last summer, but it started to come in through the manual in Korea.


2. Appearance

When you look at the exterior, it doesn't feel heavy. The white bushings are fitted by default and look very similar to the Ace.



The photo on the left is the Ace Trucks Classic and the photo on the right is a comparison photo with the Ace AF1. It's almost the same, but the hanger's triangle size is slightly different. And the curved surface rises more smoothly from the triangle to the axle, so the overall appearance feels softer than angular.



When actually fitted, it is a classic silver truck with this feeling.


Both the axle and kingpin are hollow furnace. There is a nut at the bottom of the baseplate to allow the kingpin to be inserted.


3. Turning feeling

Mike says he paid the most attention to turning. Even when I rode it in its default condition without adjusting the bushings, it wasn't very loose, but the bushings were soft enough, and it was really responsive. Turning was immediate, and the turning angle was not dull at all. I rode three other people besides me that day. All of them used to use aces, and they said that they turned better than aces. Compared to the Indy, I felt the wheelbase was longer, but it was surprising that the turning was faster.


4. Durability

I haven't ridden it for more than a few months, but I've only ridden it for a few hours, so I don't think I can say anything about durability. However, in an interview with Jenkem Mag, he said this.


This kid from North Carolina, Nick Kirch, got an early pair, and he started testing them. He's also the first person on the team. The best feedback he gave me was like, “Dude, I jumped off everything I could find trying to break them, and my board got run over by a full-sized truck, and they still work. I can't break them, and they turn super good.” —Jenkem Mag


For a normal kingpin, you only need to think about this durability, but the model I bought is a reverse kingpin, so I can't help but talk about loosening. To begin with, after riding for several hours, nothing came loose. I'll explain it later, but I think the reason is that the nut embedded in the base plate is fixed, not separated, and the hole size is just right with the kingpin, so there is no shaking.




Of course, the looser the reverse kingpin is, the better it works, and I didn't touch the kingpin. Therefore, it can be difficult to say that even if you set it up as a shedding truck, it will not loosen 100%. However, the basic setting was never a tight truck, and even though I continued to shock the truck while slapping, it didn't work out, so I'm looking at it positively.


Also, in the case of the Grind King's inverted kingpin truck, the kingpin set screw was also initially secured to the baseplate. However, as it burned, the welded part fell apart and separated.





At first, I looked at the bottom of the base plate and saw that there was a hexagonal nut, so I wondered if it was fixed by forcibly inserting it into the angled hole like the previous models of Film or Krux, but that is attached so that it cannot be separated. As shown in the picture on the left, the hanger was removed, the kingpin was inserted, and the nut was still attached as a result of hitting it several times with a hammer.


5. Advantages





a. weight

The product I purchased is a hollow product, and both the axle and kingpin are hollow, so they are quite light. Compared to the 8.375 indie stage 4 reprint, it is larger at 8.5 but slightly lighter. In the case of the Indie Mid, it is heavier by putting other parts in the baseplate for the inverted kingpin, but the Slappy Truck has no extra parts. Since the kingpin is also hollow, it is said to be about 5g lighter than the inverted kingpin.


b. turning

This is not true for those who ride tight trucks... As I said earlier, the turning feel is really good. In a story reposted from the @fuckwithyourtrucks account while looking around on Instagram, I read that someone bought another truck and it didn't have the same turning performance as the Slappy truck. Really good turning feel. It's fun to ride with moderately loose.





c. Wheels do not touch when sliding

I've seen a few cases where they avoid the Thunder because they don't like the wheel touching the side of the ledge when nose or tailslide. But while the Slappy truck has a slightly longer wheelbase, even the 54mm wheels don't reach the side of the ledge.


d. kingpin clearance

Kingpin clearance can't be bad for an inverted kingpin truck, but this truck is uniquely good.





I've said before that the Venture's kingpin clearance is really good, but the regular model of the Slappy truck is better than the Venture. I actually saw a regular kingpin model, and I remember being surprised that the kingpin nut was far below the hanger.


If the kingpin clearance is good, you will be less likely to get caught in pieces when playing smiths or feebles. As you can see in the bottom left picture, I rode with the nose lowered to some extent while smithing, and throughout practice, I never got stuck on the kingpin and stopped unless I was wrong from the start.





Personally, I really like slappy tricks. I had to pay a lot of attention to the kingpin when practicing the slappy feebles and smiths on the curve, but I'm guessing it's almost impossible to touch them at this level. In addition, several modified versions are coming out as a truck that is attracting attention from truck perverted middle-aged slappy maniacs in the United States. You can modify it to your liking, but if you hold onto each and proceed with the modification, I think it would be fun to create a huge kingpin clearance, as shown in the photo on the right above, by combining Venture's loose truck bushing and Krux's Pink Label.


6. Finish

In the current situation, where four large companies (Independent, Venture, Thunder, and Ace) now own almost all of the truck shares, it is quite funny that small truck companies appear. I think that Slappy Trucks is a brand that can run for a long time because it already has a fan base to some extent, and according to Mike's interview, he doesn't intend to grow big without overdoing it.


Those who have used Thunder or Venture trucks may need to adapt at first because of the height or the feeling of turning. However, those who have used Indy or Ace trucks, especially those who have used Ace trucks, seem to be able to adapt quickly because the turning feeling is the most similar. It's spreading really fast, with quick turning response and great kingpin clearance. Since it is a new brand, I think there are parts that need to be verified over time. However, unlike the case of a truck company that recently closed its doors, about 4 months have passed, and only good reviews have been released.


I already carefully recommended it to a friend at the beginning of this year, and the friend has been using it with great satisfaction for several months. I would like to recommend to those who are planning to change their truck to try out the Slappy truck


See the full article on DAILY GRIND HERE

809 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page